What Happened to: The Ebola epidemic?


Health care workers, wearing protective suits, leave a high-risk area at the French NGO Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors without borders) Elwa hospital on August 30, 2014 in Monrovia. Liberia has been hardest-hit by the Ebola virus raging through west Africa, with 624 deaths and 1,082 cases since the start of the year. AFP PHOTO / DOMINIQUE FAGET (Photo credit should read DOMINIQUE FAGET/AFP/Getty Images)

I was looking online the other day at a polio outbreak overseas recently and it go me to wondering about the random and majorly televised Ebola outbreak. Honestly where did it go? Did it have appointments elsewhere??? I mean for a while there I knew the Ebola outbreak was bad when old rich people were staying as far away possible from foreigners and international airport terminals! I looked up a few articles that had the real Ebola epidemic starting around August-September of 2014. It is now a year later and I have heard no Ebola rumors, rumbles, or reactions. They calculated this outbreak to be a category five hurricane, which quickly turned into the tropical storm “forget quick.” I mean seriously, the Ebola outbreak went out of style faster than Anthrax!! Those are the only two instances where I saw people on public forums asking where the nearest stores selling quarantine gear were! At least Anthrax’s’ stock was alive and well for 1.5 years. Ebola was used as a joke when I was growing up, but the real outbreak lasted about as long as the “Immaculate Conception” (if you don’t know, ask your parents for that one). So I went around this past week asking just a few people if they knew about the Ebola outbreak going on right now, and I can tell you first hand, people thought that the Ebola outbreak happened after Katrina, or before the Batman movie theater shooting!!! SERIOUSLY! This outbreak passed through our minds faster than prune juice and the elderly. Even the presidential candidate Deez Nuts is having a longer run in the minds of people (we’ll come back to this one in a year). The most defining moment of when I knew that Ebola had disappeared from people’s mindset was when I walked into a black barbershop and asked the barbers about it and they spent more time cutting hair than talking about it, and black barbers will start, continue, and finish a conversation about EVERYTHING! The only thing I could get out of them was “Oh yeah, I remember that, man 2011 was a crazy year dog” That solidified that I had to at least ask what happened to Ebola! Did we find a cure? Did we make sure anything was actually done? Because if not for seeing a comeback for a polio outbreak I would have forgotten all about it. Ebola’s stock dropped faster than Kayne’s microphone after he announced he was running for president in 2020! I’m not wishing the scare or outbreak comes back….I just want to know what the hell happened to it?!?!?!

Leave a Reply

